No es un adios. Que es hasta pronto: It is not a goodbye. It is see you soon

I cannot believe that it has been four months already. The first time I learned that I would have to report on a neighborhood that I didn’t know, I was terrified. I was new here in the city, and I hardly knew anyone at my new school, let alone a new neighborhood, but I knew it had to be done. Although I was a little frightened about conducting interviews with strangers and getting to know a new area without any tour guide, I must say it has been the best experience I have had so far in San Francisco. I have had the opportunity to visit some of the best restaurants in the Mission and cover stories that really impacted the area.

During my time in the Mission, I have also had the opportunity to write for El Tecolote newspaper, which is a bi-weekly, bilingual, paper that has been serving the community for over 40 years. I have become a part of a family, not only in the news room but also in the community. It was the best feeling to walk into famous places like the Brava Theatre and have actors that you have interviewed wave and greet you as if you were a part of the family. It has always been a desire of mine to spent some time of my career in Latin America, and I feel like I have gotten a head start because the Mission has given me a taste of Latin America. I know my time has come to end, for at least this year, but I know that I will continue to call the Mission a home away from home.

Leave a Reply

